Home Politics Democratic National Convention Committee Announces Platform Drafting Committee Members

Democratic National Convention Committee Announces Platform Drafting Committee Members

Members Represent Diversity of Party including Significant Appointments from Both Campaigns


PHILADELPHIA – Democratic National Committee (DNC) Chairwoman Debbie Wasserman-Schultz announced the appointment of the 15-person Platform Drafting Committee. The Drafting Committee is responsible for developing and managing the process through which the Democratic Party’s National Platform is established.

According to DNC rules, the members of the drafting committee are appointed at the discretion of the DNC Chair.  This year, in an effort to make this the most representative and inclusive process in history, the DNC Chair elected to allocate 75% of the committee’s seats to the presidential campaigns, awarding the slots proportionally according to the current vote tally.

Chairwoman Wasserman-Schultz also named Congressman Elijah Cummings (D-MD) as Chair of the drafting committee.

“We are delighted to bring together this talented group of Democrats,” said DNC Chairwoman Debbie Wasserman Schultz. “These individuals represent some of the best progressive thinking from across the nation. I am confident that the members of this committee will engage Americans in a substantive dialogue of ideas and solutions that will inform our Party Platform.”

“The Democratic Party has always fought to create a better life for all Americans,” said Representative Cummings. “I am pleased that we have some of our best and brightest gathered here to assemble our collective vision of our nation’s future. We will be going to unprecedented lengths to ensure that the drafting of our party’s platform is the most inclusive, open and representative process in the long history of our two major parties.”

Also appointed to serve on the Platform Drafting Committee are:

Hon. Howard Berman, Paul Booth, Hon. Carol Browner, Rep.Keith Ellison, Rep. Luis Gutiérrez, Rep. Barbara Lee, Bill McKibben, Deborah Parker, State Rep. Alicia Reece, Bonnie Schaefer, Ambassador Wendy Sherman, Neera Tanden, Dr.Cornel West, and James Zogby.

The Clinton Campaign’s Senior Policy Advisor Maya Harris and the Sanders Campaign’s Policy Director Warren Gunnels will represent their respective campaigns as official, non-voting members of the Committee.

Andrew Grossman was named Platform Executive Director. Grossman is the former Director of the Democratic Senatorial Campaign Committee.  In 2012, he served as the Director of the Democratic National Convention Platform Committee